Welcome to
The Clay Studio


Now Open

with COVID Friendly Programming!

* Important  Updates

Check back here for status and policy changes for the Smithy Clay Studio

+ The Smithy Clay Studio will continue to offer our adjusted programming schedule until further notice.  Please see our current schedule below for more information about our current programs. 

+   Please be aware of our updated studio protocol that everyone is required to follow while using the studio. These include mask use, temperature checks conducted by staff, signing in for tracing purposes, and adhering to social distancing.

Updated  07/31/20

We're Back!

Check out what's new at the Smithy Clay Studio below!

Studio Space Rentals

$25 per session, clay not included in fee

Sessions will be two hours in length and run three times a day on Monday, Wednesday & Friday.  * We have also added a NEW Evening Session on Tuesdays and Thursdays! *

There will be three slots available for each session so we can keep everyone properly distanced within the space. This will be very similar to open studio with no instruction provided and a limit of three people per time slot. We ask that you bring as many of your own tools as possible. Prior clay studio experience is required and 18+ only please.  Email sign-ups only!  Contact Adam at [email protected]

Please Note:  You may now sign up for as many sessions as you like, but there will be no refunds for booked sessions that you do not show up for!

Current Availability: (as of 09/24/20)

Friday, Sept. 25

(3 available) 9:00-11:00a
(3 available) 11:30a-1:30p (3 available) 2:00-4:00p

Monday, Sept. 28

(3 available) 9:00-11:00a
(3 available) 11:30a-1:30p (3 available) 2:00-4:00p

Tuesday, Sept. 29

(3 available) 6:00-8:00p


Wednesday, Sept. 30

(3 available) 9:00-11:00a
(3 available) 11:30a-1:30p (3 available) 2:00-4:00p

Thursday, October 1

(3 available) 6:00-8:00p


Friday, October 2

(3 available) 9:00-11:00a
(3 available) 11:30a-1:30p
(3 available) 2:00-4:00p

Monday, October 5

(3 available) 9:00-11:00a
(3 available) 11:30a-1:30p
(3 available) 2:00-4:00p

Tuesday, October 6

(3 available) 6:00-8:00p


Wednesday, October 7

(3 available)  9:00-11:00a
(3 available)  11:30a-1:30p
(3 available)  2:00-4:00p

Thursday, October 8

(3 available)  6:00-8:00p


Friday, October 9

(3 available)  9:00-11:00a
(3 available)  11:30a-1:30p
(3 available)  2:00-4:00p

Tuesday, October 13

(3 available)  6:00-8:00p


Wednesday, October 14

(3 available) 9:00-11:00a
(3 available) 11:30a-1:30p
(3 available) 2:00-4:00p

Thursday, October 15

(3 available) 6:00-8:00p


Friday, October 16

(3 available) 9:00-11:00a
(3 available) 11:30a-1:30p
(3 available) 2:00-4:00p

Monday, October 19 

(3 available) 9:00-11:00a
(3 available) 11:30a-1:30p
(3 available) 2:00-4:00p

Tuesday, October 20

(3 available)  6:00-8:00p


Wednesday, October 21

(3 available) 9:00-11:00a
(3 available) 11:30a-1:30p
(3 available) 2:00-4:00p

Thursday, October 22

(3 available)  6:00-8:00p


Friday, October 23

(3 available) 9:00-11:00a
(3 available) 11:30a-1:30p
(3 available) 2:00-4:00p

Monday, October 26

(3 available) 9:00-11:00a
(3 available) 11:30a-1:30p
(3 available) 2:00-4:00p

Tuesday, October 27

(3 available)  6:00-8:00p


Wednesday, October 28

(3 available) 9:00-11:00a
(3 available) 11:30a-1:30p
(3 available) 2:00-4:00p

Thursday, October 29

(3 available)  6:00-8:00p


Friday, October 30

(3 available) 9:00-11:00a
(3 available) 11:30a-1:30p
(3 available) 2:00-4:00p

Kiln Rentals


We will be offering whole kiln rentals for people who do not wish to create work in the studio at this time.

If you wish to use clay or glaze not available from the studio, both must be approved by the studio manager prior to firing. We ask that you bring receipts or recipes for review and approval.  We reserve the right to deny firing if we deem it a risk to the equipment. 

Please contact Adam at [email protected] to arrange the timeframe for your kiln rental. 

Firing Fees


Small Kiln

    Bisque Firing Cone 05  -  $35
    Glaze Firing Cone 06  -  $45

Large Kiln

    Bisque Firing Cone 05  -  $45
    Glaze Firing Cone 06  -  $55 

Private Lessons

$150 for one 3 hour session, clay not included in fee
$50 per additional person (limit 2)


Private Studio Lessons will consist of one-on-one instruction with one of The Smithy’s instructors, with the option to have up to 3 people in the lesson.  These lessons will be available to schedule on Tuesdays and Thursdays, upon request.

We ask that when scheduling the lesson, you provide us with an idea of what you would like to accomplish in the timeframe so that we can match you with an appropriate instructor.

To inquire about a private lesson, email Adam at [email protected]

Read more

Bags of clay are still available for purchase at $35/bag!

Glazing and firing fees are included in this price.